The World Refugee Council welcomes the United Nations’ two, new non-binding global compacts, the Global Compact on Refugees and the Global Compact for Safe, Orderly and Regular Migration.

With their adoption, the compacts will play a critical role in ensuring the protection of people who are on the move, and will contribute to greater international cooperation and responsibility sharing among countries.

Global migration is a reality in today’s world that brings with it many new opportunities and challenges requiring an effective, coordinated global response.

It is important to recognize that neither compact infringes on national sovereignty or the rights of states to manage or distinguish between regular and irregular migration. Taken together, however, they can help mitigate the risks while promoting the many benefits that refugees and migrants bring to society.

The global compacts both also rightly emphasize the importance of supporting host communities and countries, especially in the developing world.

It will be vital to translate the goals and commitments in these global compacts into concrete action that promotes meaningful change, especially in addressing the special needs of women and girls, who represent more than 50 percent of the world’s refugee population yet are the most vulnerable.

The World Refugee Council applauds the principle of global solidarity that lies at the heart of both global compacts and the responsibility that all states share in protecting the rights and security of vulnerable people on the move as well as in providing for their basic needs.

Through its action plan that will be detailed in its own final report, A Call to Action: Transforming the Global Refugee System, to be released in January 2019, the World Refugee Council looks forward to building on the major foundations of both global compacts.

World Refugee Council Members


Lloyd Axworthy, Chair
Paul Heinbecker, Deputy Chair
Hina Jilani, Co-chair
Jakaya Kikwete, Co-chair
Fen Osler Hampson, Director
Rita Süssmuth, Co-chair


Pamela Aall
Shaima Al Zarooni
Alexander Betts
Aya Chebbi
Sarah Cliffe
Jérôme Elie
Jonathan Fanton
Leymah Gbowee
Per Heggenes
Susan Martin
Marwan Muasher
Devota Nuwe
Ratna Omidvar
George Papandreou
Nirupama Menon Rao
Güven Sak
Eduardo Stein
Jessie Thomson


For more information about the World Refugee Council or interview requests with Council members, please contact: [email protected]